Isnik jeans study

I believe that I had past lives in the Ottoman times and in the Balkan peninsula. There are just way too many weird coincidences and dreams. I will go into that in a blog later.

Since I am dealing with some insomnia, I decided to do a study on Isnik for my Isnik jeans project. I used stencils for this study. I don’t know how the designs are going to play out with fabric paint on denim. Paint tends to bleed out on fabric. Isnik tends to be pretty intricate, so I don’t know how I am going to get that kind of detail on a medium that tends to bleed out and get fuzzy. I may have to do it all freehand, but I will probably do the freehand study tomorrow. Or I can do a mixture of stencil and freehand. I’ll have to do a study to see how that works out. 

 

Any way, I’ve always loved Isnik art. It’s an old Ottoman Turkish art form usually painted on tiles and pottery.

 

iznik2

This Isnik that I found online is inked and waiting to be colored in. I used it as a bit of a guide.

Iznik-Chini-Production-8

I bought a stencil pack a year or so ago. I use them for crafty things. I used these for my Isnik study.

CAM00962

This is what I came up with using stencils:

 

 

 

 

 

CAM00963

Leave a Reply

