We Weren’t That Resilient

I have to say that as a generation, Gen X tends to be pretty mean spirited and judgmental. They also have this “oh screw it, nothing is going to get better” attitude. I also read that middle age (that’s where we are now) people have a higher rate of suicide and more die of suicide than car accidents.

I also notice that Gen X tends to have a lot of addiction problems. SO many of my peers are either still in addiction mode or even died.

I don’t really have too much nostalgia about my teens and twenties. Or even my thirties. They weren’t happy times at all.  The only thing I may feel a smidge nostalgic for is Britpop. While most of my peers were listening to the “I hate myself and want to die” Grunge music, I was listening to the more quaint and quirky Britpop. I do not say this as a “I’m an elitist snob and refuse to do the American mainstream” thing. It was a matter of survival for me. If I listened to Grunge, my depression would have been a billion times worse. I couldn’t afford to listen to the “I hate myself and want to die” shit. That’s pretty much why I gravitated over to Britpop. It was lifesaver for me.

Well I did have my Goth phase and still like Goth music. I ran into some really awful people in that scene (but a lot of cool people too). I had to get out of that scene to get away from people who treated me poorly.

The thing is, Gen-X really doesn’t have a leg up on Millennials. A lot of the toxic shit that some Millennials do really aren’t new at all. I’ve seen a lot of that behavior in Gen-X as well. In fact, I think the not caring about things and drowning in apathy started with us. I am not sure why.

 

 

 

 

 

Source: We Weren’t That Resilient

Leave a Reply

